December 11, 2022

Agricultural sector: PM decides to form eight working groups – Pakistan

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has decided to form eight task forces to solve problems in the agricultural sector to improve the efficiency and productivity of the sector.

The Prime Minister chaired a meeting of the agriculture working group on Monday, which was briefed on the potential of the agricultural sector, particularly wheat, edible oilseeds and cotton farming in the country, as well as the problems and for their solutions.

Task forces formed by the Prime Minister covered edible oil, wheat, cotton, agricultural finance, harvesters and mechanization, maintenance of agricultural research institutes, research and development in the agricultural sector, climate-smart agriculture and water management.

The meeting was informed that non-availability of quality seeds, lack of attention to research and development as well as difficulties in obtaining easy loans by farmers are some of the major problems in the development of the sector. agricultural.

The Prime Minister, speaking on the occasion, said that agriculture is the backbone of the country’s economy and is therefore among the main priorities of the government.

He lamented that agriculture has remained neglected in the past and that the country, which was once self-sufficient in crops, now depends on imports.

He said the government would pay special attention to research and development in agriculture and measures would be taken for the induction of human resources.

The Prime Minister has ordered that measures be taken to recruit human resources on the basis of merit in the agricultural research institution and ensure the provision of easy loans to farmers.

The Prime Minister further said that the recovery rate of easy loans granted to farmers during his party’s government in Punjab was better.

Federal Minister of Finance Miftah Ismail, Federal Minister of Water Resources Syed Khurshid Shah, Federal Minister of Planning Ahsan Iqbal, Federal Minister of National Food Security Tariq Bashir Cheema, Federal Minister of Information and Broadcasting Marriyum Aurangzeb, and Federal Climate Change Minister Sherry Rehman also participated in the meeting.

Copyright Business Recorder, 2022