September 19, 2023

Kerala strives to boost agricultural sector, says Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan

The Kerala government is striving to ensure the overall development of the agricultural sector, Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan has said. He virtually inaugurated the Department of Agriculture’s Njangalum Krishiyilekku project on Thursday.

“The government has implemented several projects aimed at achieving self-sufficiency in food production. Modern farming practices take root in the state. Many young people are getting into farming, which is a good sign. Measures will be taken for the effective marketing of agricultural products. Apart from agriculture department, local self-government institutions, cooperation department and industries department will join the efforts,” Vijayan said.

Speaking on the occasion, Minister of Agriculture, P. Prasad, said that “Njangalum Krishiyilekku” would ensure the production of safe-to-consume items.

The department launched the Njangalum Krishiyilek campaign to strengthen the agricultural sector by attracting as many people as possible to farming. It aims to create 10,000 farmer groups, put 10,000 hectares under organic farming, promote value-added agriculture and value-added agricultural enterprises, and make 140 villages carbon neutral.

“The project will encourage all families to adopt organic farming with the aim of achieving self-sufficiency in food production. Farming on fallow land and domestic premises will be encouraged. The project will strengthen market systems and ensure that all farmers reap the benefits of agricultural mechanization,” an official from the Ministry of Agriculture said.

Officials said ecologically-based farming practices and budgeting would be introduced as part of the project. “Farmers will be encouraged to practice agriculture appropriate to their respective locations. Climate-resilient crops will be prioritized,” the official said.

Fisheries Minister Saji Cherian distributed saplings during the ceremony held at NSS Karayogam auditorium in Cherthala town.

AM Ariff, MP, MPs PP Chitharanjan, H. Salam, Thomas K. Thomas, MS Arunkumar, Alappuzha District Panchayat Chairman KG Rajeshwari, Cherthala Municipal Chairperson Sherly Bharghavan, Kanjikuzhy Block Panchayat Chairperson VG Mohanan, Commissioner to agricultural production Ishita Roy, Secretary of Department of Agriculture Prime Minister Ali Asgar Pasha, Director of Agricultural Television Subhash, District Collector Renu Raj were among those present.